Print this page | Go back to previous topic
Forum nameTips & Tricks
Topic subjectHow to deal with reimbursement in general ledger
Topic URLhttps://www.businessownersideacafe.com/forums/dcboard.php?az=show_topic&forum=118&topic_id=34
34, How to deal with reimbursement in general ledger
Posted by koblisa, Thu Jan-04-07 09:23 AM
I started a small business at home and try my best to track all the transactions. I use business cheque or debit card whenever I can; however, from time to time, I use cash and personal credit card for some services and purchases. I created a reimburse form for those expenses. I am starting to use computerized bookkeeping software and don't know how to deal with the reimbursement, especially in the general ledger and tax purposes. I am very new to proper business bookkeeping. Can anyone provide some advice please?
36, RE: How to deal with reimbursement in general ledger
Posted by roxanne, Tue Jan-09-07 10:30 AM
When owners of a sole proprietorship take money out for their personal use, it is called a draw. Draw is classified as an equity account. If you are reimbursing yourself for a business expense, such as office supplies, cut yourself a check and classify the expense as office supplies. You can cut a check for multiple classifications. Are you using Quickbooks?
Also, you can get free business advice and assistance with your local Small Business Development Center. Go to www.sba.gov to find and SBDC office near you.
37, RE: How to deal with reimbursement in general ledger
Posted by megangomez, Tue Jan-09-07 01:21 PM
Make copies of all the receipts you want your business to reimburse you for. Categorize and subtotal the receipts. Write a check with yourself as the payee, detailing out the subtotals(Your software will make the appropriate entries in the GL when you write the check). Attach the receipt copies to the check stub and keep for your business files, retain the original receipts with your personal records.

Example: