Print this page | Go back to previous topic
Forum nameMarketing Mix
Topic subjectRE: Need advice on how to promote/market my store
Topic URLhttps://www.businessownersideacafe.com/forums/dcboard.php?az=show_topic&forum=106&topic_id=633&mesg_id=677
677, RE: Need advice on how to promote/market my store
Posted by Pepperfire, Mon Sep-10-07 04:34 AM
Pardon me for being amused.

I don't know who told you "if you build it, they will come"... they won't.

You are going to have to do a lot more than just online marketing if you want people buying from your site.

I also am not sure that using Cafe-Press as your shopping cart is a great idea. I will add that I'm not sure it's a bad idea either, it just seems to me that if you're going to sell this many designs, you should have your own website, even if Cafe-Press is your printer.

That said...

I have been marketing my products for nearly five years in person, at shows, I see hundreds of thousands of people every year show them my products, they taste them, they buy them, we have had six-figure revenues for four years running, but my website only gets a few thousand hits a month, and the vast majority of the sales there, we make to returning customers. I say this not because I am a horrible net marketer, because some of my sales come because I have net marketed, but by far, the majority of them come from people we specifically sent to the website to order.