Print this page | Go back to previous topic
Forum nameBiz Ideas
Topic subjectProfit or non-profit
Topic URLhttps://www.businessownersideacafe.com/forums/dcboard.php?az=show_topic&forum=103&topic_id=731
731, Profit or non-profit
Posted by idealist, Fri Feb-02-07 09:57 AM
I am currently a social worker who has noticed the increase in juvenile crime in my community. The biggest reason the teens I work with give me is that there is "NOTHING TO DO". I am interested in starting a teen center that would have all the teen essentials: video games, tutoring, basketball, activites, somewhere that teens can go "hang out" with supervision not security. I think using the center for Fri/Sat dances with a popular DJ. The trouble I am having is go profit or non-profit?? The thing that scares me the most is going non-profit- so much red tape and no security with the finaces. How do I decide? Profit or non-profit???
751, RE: Profit or non-profit
Posted by BizConsulting, Tue Feb-06-07 05:24 PM
I commend you for finding a solution to the problem in your community. I have seen a business like you are describing make a huge impact on the lives of the children involved and the surrounding community.

As with all businesses, you need to develop a solid business plan. I would do some in-depth research on the internet to find others who have already developed a similar program in other parts of the country. There is no need to re-invent the wheel if you don't have to. You can learn from the mistakes they made and ask them your profit vs. non-proft question. This will also give you some people to share ideas with as your business grows.

Best of Luck to you on your new venture!

Suzanne
www.newbiz-coaching.com
Try our QuickStart program for the "Entrepreneur's Handbook"
755, RE: Profit or non-profit
Posted by idealist, Wed Feb-07-07 08:11 AM