Print this page | Go back to previous topic
Forum nameBiz Ideas
Topic subjectOnline editing/proofreading business
Topic URLhttps://www.businessownersideacafe.com/forums/dcboard.php?az=show_topic&forum=103&topic_id=4208
4208, Online editing/proofreading business
Posted by coffeetalk21, Wed Mar-03-10 03:17 PM
I've been looking into starting an online editing/proofreading business. I have over four years of experience at the university level so I feel that I have the skill set, but does anyone know if this idea is profitable? There are so many large, "factory-style" online editing services that I'm not sure what competition would be like. I intend to promote myself at my alma mater and other nearby universities. Thoughts?
4209, RE: Online editing/proofreading business
Posted by jimkclifton, Thu Mar-04-10 12:06 PM
I think it's a great idea. I'm not sure about how competitive it is. I'd start by contacting some smaller on-line publishing companies to see if they hire any freelancers. One I'm familiar with is AuthorHouse.com.
Find out how to make $3900 per month while you get started with your new business by watching this 7 minute movie at www.myhomeoffice.ws

Good luck and have fun!

Jim Clifton
jim@myhomeoffice.ws
4215, RE: Online editing/proofreading business
Posted by annalaurabrown, Sat Mar-06-10 09:12 AM
I'm sure there is a market for it but when I think of this kind of business I think more of people using these services offline. Try and find some similar business online and see if there is a way you could improve upon what they are already offering.
4338, RE: Online editing/proofreading business
Posted by DeniseTaylor, Tue May-18-10 06:10 AM
Hi

Just because there is competition, doesn't mean you can't do this. It just means it will take longer.