Print this page | Go back to previous topic
Forum nameBiz Ideas
Topic subjectCatering idea, need help
Topic URLhttps://www.businessownersideacafe.com/forums/dcboard.php?az=show_topic&forum=103&topic_id=3948
3948, Catering idea, need help
Posted by Icelady, Wed Sep-23-09 04:00 AM
I am starting an event decor rental and ice sculpture business. I have a BS degree in Hospitality Management and have owned my own restaurant, which I went broke financially and physically in. I am now trying to start over and build this business up on a shoestring. I am a cook and very passionate about it and I also love decorating tablescapes for events. I would love to get into catering but with having to have a commercial kitchen and all the expenses that goes with it is just not in my budget right now.

My question is an idea I found on someone's web site for event services. They list catering and when I clicked to see what they offered, it said that their menu was provided by a famous local restaurant. They have the menu to pick dishes and the price person person just like any other caterer would have. They just aren't cooking it.

I was thinking this may be a way to make some extra money with my event service doing catering but without having to have the commercial kitchen. What do you think? I am trying to figure out how this could be a win win situation for both me and the restaurant. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Icelady
3949, RE: Catering idea, need help
Posted by hostingdiva, Thu Sep-24-09 04:53 AM
It sounds fine - you're just outsourcing the cooking. Have you talked to any of your local restaurants yet to see whether any of them would be interested in providing such services? Not all restaurants have the capacity to provide so many meals in one day. So, you would really need to talk to a couple. Also, would they be willing to give you price breaks so that you could actually offer affordable services?

~~~~~~~~~
3950, RE: Catering idea, need help