Print this page | Go back to previous topic
Forum nameBiz Ideas
Topic subjectIs there a market for this?
Topic URLhttps://www.businessownersideacafe.com/forums/dcboard.php?az=show_topic&forum=103&topic_id=3521
3521, Is there a market for this?
Posted by DetroitDeziner, Thu Mar-19-09 05:08 AM
I'm a graphic designer with 30 years' experience and I love my work. Right now I'm doing work primarily for self-published authors and independent publishers designing books (covers and interiors).

I have had a business idea in the back of my mind for several years. I'm always dismayed when I see small businesses using marketing materials that look like their child created them.

I know many small businesses don't have the budget to afford professionally designed work, so I would like to offer them a course in using sound design principles to create their own materials that have a professional look. I have some experience in presenting workshops for association newsletter editors and those were well-reviewed.

I even have an outline of what I'd like to include in the course:
Make Your Own Layout -- Basics for Designing Marketing Materials
1. Design Basics
2. Typography
3. Writing and Editing
4. Production
5. Distribution
6. Logos
7. Business cards and Stationery
8. Flyers and Brochures

So, would small business owners be willing to pay for this course?

Brenda Lewis
Ubangi Graphics
Designs that Work
http://www.ubangi-graphics.com
3525, RE: Is there a market for this?
Posted by Pepperfire, Fri Mar-20-09 03:23 AM
Hi Brenda,

To begin with, the easiest question to answer is "would small business owners be willing to pay for this course?".